Blogs > High School Sports

Welcome to the New Haven Register high school sports blog where our talented staff of Chris Hunn, Joe Morelli, Dan Nowak and Mike Pucci will keep you up to date on everything to do with high school sports in Connecticut. Mike Pucci's Gridiron Glory blog for high school football remains. We hope you enjoy and feel free to join in the conversation.

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Connecticut's public school lacrosse All-America selections

From US Lacrosse:

US Lacrosse today announced the final group of high school boys’ lacrosse players to be named a US Lacrosse High School All-American, All-Academic honoree or Bob Scott Award winner. A total 327 players in this group were recognized for their efforts on and off the field.

The breakdown of players includes 206 All-Americans, 101 All-Academic honorees and 20 Bob Scott Award winners were selected from 33 areas within the US Lacrosse system.

US Lacrosse uses a calendar-based recognition process to accommodate for the different time frames of high school lacrosse seasons across the country.

A US Lacrosse All-American is a player who exhibits superior skills and techniques and possesses exceptional game sense and knowledge. A US Lacrosse All-American is one of the best players in the United States, while also embodying excellent sportsmanship.
Here are Connecticut's selections for All-America:

Brett Baker, A (Ridgefield HS, 2013)

Zack Bartolo, A (Brien McMahon HS-Norwalk, 2013)

Kevin Brown, A (Fairfield Prep, 2013)

Zach Cattaruzza, D (Guilford HS, 2013)

Conn Curry, D (Joel Barlow HS-Redding, 2013)

Cal Dearth, M (Ridgefield HS, 2013)

Tim Edmonds, A (Fairfield Prep, 2013)

Andrew Hatton, D (Fairfield Prep, 2013)

Mitch Kezer, D (Stonington HS, 2013)

Grant Limone, G (Weston HS, 2014)

Josh Miller, G (Brien McMahon HS-Norwalk, 2014)

Ted Ottens, M (Wilton HS, 2013)

Eric Persky, D (New Canaan HS, 2013)

Puck Richardson, A (New Canaan HS, 2013)

Graham Savio, M (Greenwich HS, 2013)

David White, M (Fairfield Prep, 2013)

Joey Zelkowitz, M (Staples HS-Westport, 2013)

Here are Connecticut's selections for Academic All-America honors: A US Lacrosse All-Academic honoree is a player who exhibits exemplary lacrosse skills, good sportsmanship on the field, and represents high standards of academic achievement in the classroom. This player also should have left his mark beyond the lacrosse field and the classroom by making significant contributions of service to the school and/or community.

Alexander Borkowski, D (Branford, 2013)

Bryan Davis, M (Southington HS , 2013)

Thomas Dupont, A (Cheshire, 2013)

Timothy Gephart, M (New Fairfield, 2013)

Sam Gravitte, D (Ridgefield, 2013)

Matthew Macoy, M (Ludlowe , 2013)

Michael Semancik, G (Fitch, 2013)

Zach Psaras, D (St. Jospeh HS , 2013)

Connecticut's Bob Scott Award winner:   A US Lacrosse Bob Scott Award winner is a senior player recognized by each area chairman who truly honors lacrosse, is invested in the development of the game in his community, is an exceptional player who continually strives to improve his game, and is an exemplary member of his team. He exemplifies the spirit of the game, on and off the field.

David White, M (Fairfield Prep, 2013)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home