Blogs > High School Sports

Welcome to the New Haven Register high school sports blog where our talented staff of Chris Hunn, Joe Morelli, Dan Nowak and Mike Pucci will keep you up to date on everything to do with high school sports in Connecticut. Mike Pucci's Gridiron Glory blog for high school football remains. We hope you enjoy and feel free to join in the conversation.

Saturday, April 23, 2011

CIAC Scholar Athlete Banquet

The annual CIAC High School Scholar-Athlete Banquet will be held Sunday, May 1, at 5 p.m. at the Aqua Turf in Southington.
The Scholar-Athlete Program annually recognizes two high school seniors - one boy and one girl - from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, personal standards and achievements are a model to others, and possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage.
Dr. Richard Diana of Connecticut Orthopedic Specialists will be the keynote speaker. For more information contact Stephanie Ford at 203-250-1111 or
Here is the list of area recipients:

Katelyn Wong and Zezhong Ze of Amity
Courtney Egan and Zachary Rivers from Ansonia
Paige Simmons and Brendan Shea from Branford
Laura Collins and Kevin Champagne from Bunnell
Ashley Raymond and Brendyn Benson from Career
Wendy Fang and Brendan Pier from Cheshire
Lora Manley and Thomas Ryan from Coginchaug
Meghan Lynch and James Florentine from Hand
Irini Agaraj and Jonathan Haydu from Derby
Brittany Douglas and Andrew Schneer from East Haven
Matt D’Ambrisi from Fairfield Prep
Cristina LaPenna and Matthew Haselkamp from Foran
Valerie K. Williams and Jesse D. Iassogna from Guilford
Ashley Scully and Clayton Roundtree from Haddam-Killingworth
Gabriella Benitez and Patrick Cyr from Hamden
Jenna Wilborne and Joel Clarke from Hillhouse
Shaunea Green from Hyde
Meaghan Abbott and Andrew Fowler from Law
Danielle Sekerak from Lauralton Hall
Rebecca Furgalack from Allen Copas Lyman Hall
Elizabeth Saia from Mercy
Sara Boudreau and Guillaume Bastian from Morgan
Margaret Sullivan and Michael Reilly from North Branford
Alicia Criscuolo Istvan Kanyo from North Haven
Matthew Merola from Notre Dame-West Haven
Shelby Betts and John Sinnorai from O’Brien Tech
Caroline Bruno and Shane Olsen from Old Saybrook
Sara Taylor and Juan Pinto from Platt Tech
Clare Kane from Sacred Heart Academy
Kimberly Ferris and Bhupinder Singh from Seymour
Sarah LaPlante and Jeffrey DeVince from Sheehan
Kelli Freer and Daniel Guerrera from Shelton
Taylor Whiting and Lancelot Hunt from St. Joseph
Jessica Barragan and Tadhg C. Hannon from Stratford
Amelia Haney and Ryan Wichtowski from Valley Regional
Shannon Connor and Michael Binkowski from West Haven
Jamie Abraham and Alexander Lawton from Westbrook
Lillian Flowers and Ben Gyuko Whitney Tech
Catalina Gatica-Brennan and Jordy Padilla from Wilbur Cross
Michael R. Thompson from Xavier


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home