Blogs > High School Sports

Welcome to the New Haven Register high school sports blog where our talented staff of Chris Hunn, Joe Morelli, Dan Nowak and Mike Pucci will keep you up to date on everything to do with high school sports in Connecticut. Mike Pucci's Gridiron Glory blog for high school football remains. We hope you enjoy and feel free to join in the conversation.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Wrestling Hall of Fame to induct six

The Connecticut Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame will induct six people at a dinner on April 10 at Foxwoods Resort Casino.

The six men to be honored are: Walter "Buster" Jadach, current coach at Derby; James Cunningham, former coach and athletic director at Holy Cross; Jim Day, former coach and current athletic director at Berlin; Retired Lieutenant Col. Gralyn Harris, a former wrestler and current coach at Holy Cross; Ray Mainville, former coach at Maloney and a current official; and Michael Morris, former coach at Danbury and a current official.

Cunningham, Day, Mainville, Morris and Jadach will receive a Lifetime Achievement award for those with at least 20 years of service. Harris is being honored as an Outstanding American, an award for former wrestlers who have received state or national acclaim in their chosen profession.

Each award recipient will be permanently recognized in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater, Okla., with a name plaque and each receives a plaque and jacket to commemorate the very special occasion. These six will join 23 other inductees from Connecticut in the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Tickets for the banquet are on sale now for $75 each and are available online through


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home